Research Council Meeting March 9, 2016, 3:30 – 5:00 p.m. Blount Hall, Room A004

Attendees

Ramki Kalyanaraman (chair) Rebecca Klenk
Benjamin Auerbach Holly Mercer
Christine Boake Janet Nelson
Matthew Cooper Christian Parigger
Alexander Freire George Siopsis
Qiang He Dawnie Steadman

Micheline Van Riemsdijk

Guests

Kelly Steele

Welcome by the Chair: Ramki Kalyanaraman

Vote on approval of the minutes from February

Ramki Kalyanaraman presented the February 10, 2016 minutes for approval. The minutes were unanimously approved.

Presentation on Office of Sponsored Programs - Jean Mercer, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research Director, OSP

Dr. Mercer discussed the responsibilities of the OSP as well as new initiatives she is working on. Responsibilities include consultation on proposal development, budget review, official institution signatory as well as award management. Current initiatives include developing guidance on rates and procedures for proposal development, updating the OSP website, review of F&A policies, Cayuse 424 addition, reviewing of current processes for award review and negotiation, engagement of proactive reviews and assistance on proposals.

Presentation on ORE Faculty Development Team - Louise Nuttle, Director

Presented on the organizational structure of the ORE and demonstrate that her team is under Dr. Nelson but interacts actively with all other ORE units. Responsibilities include proposal development support, communities of scholars, faculty awards/fellowships, management of limited submission opportunities and funding opportunity identification. Dr. Nuttle's email is lnuttle@utk.edu.

Research Council Update – Ramki Kalyanaraman

- Request to Provost to provide rates/reasons for faculty leaving UT (in response to faculty informal comments that "tenure is slowly being removed"). Provost is currently working on compiling this data.
- Speaker requests done; waiting on Rachel Radom. Stacie Patterson will speak at the May meeting
- GRA Committee currently providing ratings to ORE on summer GRA awards. GRA

committee is Chris Boake, Shellen Wu, Terry Hazen, George Siposis, Bob Muenchen; Alex Freire

ORE Update – Janet Nelson

- Approximately 40 GRA summer applications to date for RC to view
- Remind research council that RFP for organized research units are due March 18. Would like to ask RC for one volunteer to review the applications. Estimates 15-20 applications will come in.
- Announcement: Name change of the Children's Mental Health Services Research Center to be changed to the Center for Behavioral Health Research

Awards Committee Update – Ben Auerbach

- Chancellor's Award Committee met to consider the nominees. Nominated four for the Professional Promise Award, four for Creative Achievement Award, and no nominees for Success in Multidisciplinary Research Award.
- Committee also reviewed the criteria for Chancellor's Awards. Submitted two options to resolve the concern of fairness among ranks for the Professional Promise Award and Creative Achievement Award (enumerated in email from the Committee to the RC).
- During discussion, RC members expressed that perhaps non-TT faculty should be included in the awards criteria.

No New Business was discussed.

Meeting commenced at 3:30 pm, adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Minutes taken by Dawnie Steadman